Permanent Cosmetics and Microblading Legislation
In Most States Permanent make up or Micropigmentation is regulated by the Health Board under the Rules and Regulations of Body Art Tattooing or Body Modification. Operating and performing Permanent Makeup and Microblading services without a license is illegal and therefore prohibited. Most States also require a Fundamentals or Basic Permanent makeup class of at least a 100 hours in order to apply for the license and your certificate has to reflect that, therefore just a Microblading certificate will not suffice. In fact most Health Boards do NOT recognize the term “Microblading”. So it is extremely important you make sure your training covers the fundamentals of Permanent Makeup, which should include training in Eyebrows, Eyeliners and Lips. Most states and local boards require the applicants to complete an apprenticeship with a licensed body art practitioner. Requirements can range from 200 – 2000 hours. It is the student’s responsibility to understand and comply with State and local Health department laws. Please call us if you have any questions.
Please click on this link for more information in your State: https://www.spcp.org/us-state-legislative-information/
Massachusetts State Regulations
IT IS EXTREMELY IMPORTANT THAT ESTHETICIANS, COSMETOLOGISTS AND MANICURISTS UNDERSTAND THAT THE LOCAL BOARD OF HEATH REGULATES TATTOOING AND NOT THE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY!
You would have to make sure that:
- The town/city/state you want to work in is regulated for Body Art, Tattooing and/or Cosmetic Tattooing (The State of Massachusetts does not have a statewide regulation and has left it up to each town or city to decide whether or not they will adapt this new law. Please be advised).
- The class you are taking offers at least 100 hours of certification, is a comprehensive course and teaches the fundamentals of permanent cosmetics (e.g. not only Microblading)
- In addition to your certification your state/town/city may require additional hours in form or either an apprenticeship or shadowing a master.
- There are two parts to the Licensing and that one cannot operate without the other: Make sure you are in a facility that has an ESTABLISHMENT lisence for Body Art, Tattooing and/or Cosmetic Tattooing and that you have obtained a PRACTITIONER license to practice Body Art, Tattooing and/or Cosmetic Tattooing.